Friday, December 7, 2012

New to this

Hi everybody, I am starting this blog in hopes of many things.  I will get into that later, but I want to introduce myself.  My name is Leah and I am married with 2 wonderful boys.  My boys are ages 3.5 and 8 months.  They are my everything.  

I am currently staying at home with them and watching a friend's baby as well.  My oldest son was in daycare until he was about a year and a half old and we finally decided that the cost of daycare ($980 p/month) just wasn't worth it when I can stay home and watch a few kids.  I did that for about a year and a half and then my husband got a job in Minneapolis, MN, so we picked up and moved from VA in the middle of winter 2010.  

It was January and there was about 5 feet of snow on the ground in MN.  My husband, Pete, went in November to get settled a little bit and I stayed behind to pack and get our house ready to be rented.  

When Monkey (my oldest son) and I took the trek to MN with a car load of stuff and a friend, it was interesting to say the least!  Luckily I have family in PA and that is on the way to MN, so we stopped there and stayed with family for about 10 days to give our luggage and household items a chance to make it to MN.  

I would have to say that moving is one of the most stressful things ever!  We finally made it, only stayed a year and a half.  I wish we would've stayed a little longer.  I made a lot of great friends there and had a great network of people who enjoyed the same things as me and all of our kids got along, which if you are a parent, you know how hard and important that is!  

We moved back to VA in April 2012, 2 weeks after our 2nd son, Bubba, was born.  If I thought the first move was rough, I was way off base.  It was hard enough packing and preparing to move while 9 months pregnant, but add a new baby and a grumpy 3 year old into the mix, and it was crazy.  

We moved to VA and moved into a rental property because our home is currently occupied by a tenant.  We decided that we really hate renting and started looking for a house to buy.  We found a home and purchased it and moved in.  This was all done between the middle of April and August.  

It was a rough few months.  

Now we are in our new home, and I am still unpacking.  I have so many goals and ideas of what I want to do in our home, and I just can't get enough hours out of the day.  

Did I also mention I am a full time student at the University of Phoenix?  I am completing my Bachelors in Business Management.  I still have about a year or so to go.  If you don't know how the University of Phoenix works, you take one class over 5 weeks.  This class is so crammed with work, that it is like taking 4 classes.  On a normal week you are required to do an individual assignment, a team assignment, post 2 discussion items on 4 days of the week, read an average of 6 chapters, and answer at least 2 discussion questions.  It is a lot when the only time you actually get to work on it is if you somehow get 3 kids to nap at the same time (yeah right!), or after bedtime sometime after 8pm.  

I am on a week break from class right now and I plan to get some stuff done around this house!  I probably should be doing that instead of this, but I just had to get this started.  Some things I plan to write about are kids, daily life, personal goals, and just anything that I think is worth writing about.  I am writing because I want a network of people who like what I like and have feedback on the things I write about.  I enjoy telling my story and hope you will enjoy reading it.  

Any suggestions or ideas are welcomed!

No comments:

Post a Comment

I look forward to your comments, they make my day!